Ru / En
Ru / En

New Chapter

A mobile library envisioned by a Norwegian-Russian team of curators and artists, featuring Komafest, Vardø Restored project and project platform Fridaymilk, will reconnect two coastal Pomor trade towns, Vardø (Varangerfjørd) and Teriberka (Kola peninsula).

The project team intends to build a common knowledge base that facilitates strengthening of historical partnership between the towns which are long gone. This will also create new opportunities for cultural exchange.

The project "New Chapter" aims to transform out-of-use wagon for maintenance workers into a library and a unique meeting place for locals and guests. Thus the library becomes a way to reconnect old Pomor towns and an alternative to Pomor trade: instead of fish and timber, books will become the common heritage for people of Vardø and Teriberka to exchange.

There will be an emphasis on voluntary participation of local people in order to define the social status and cultural identity of the "mobile library". Mutual dialogue, various seminars devoted to the local traditions and highlighting Pomor culture and food will contribute to the Northern culture revival and stop Pomor community from dissolution.

Unfortunately this material
is not available in English

New Chapter /

Ru / En
Ru / En

Новая Глава

Проект создания мобильной библиотеки от объединенной команды норвежских и российских кураторов и художников: фестиваля Komafest, проекта Vardø Restored проектной платформы Fridaymilk, свяжет два прибрежных поморских городка: Вардё (Варангер-фьорд) и Териберку (Кольский полуостров).

Мы хотим создать единую базу знаний, которая позволит укрепить исторически сложившиеся, но незаслуженно забытые дружеские связи двух городов, открыв новые возможности для культурного обмена жителей прибрежной территории.

Проект «Новая глава» — это возможность переделать один из неиспользуемых вагончиков для рабочих в местную библиотеку, создав уникальное место встречи для жителей и гостей посёлка. Таким образом библиотека станет связующим звеном между двумя поморскими поселениями — Териберкой и Вардё, став альтернативой былой Поморской торговле. Вместо рыбы и леса, книги и разнообразная литература станут общим наследием, которым жители Вардё и Териберки смогут регулярно обмениваться.

Команда проекта хочет привлечь волонтёров и заинтересованных жителей к проекту, для более точного определения социального статуса и культурной принадлежности «мобильной библиотеки». Взаимный диалог, разнообразные семинары раскрывающие местную традицию, с упором на поморскую культуру и еду, помогут укрепить северную идентичность и возродить, растворяющуюся во времени, поморскую общность.

Unfortunately this material
is not available in English

Новая Глава /